Beyond Burritos: Plant Based Community Dinner

  • PATH 340 North Madison Avenue Los Angeles, CA, 90004 United States

Burrito Project L.A. will be holding a community dinner for the women at the transitional living center PATH - Making it Home. We want to share a meal with the current residents and introduce them to affordable and accessible plant based dishes. 

This dinner will be potluck style. We are asking all volunteers to bring a dish to share that is about 15 - 20 generous servings.

DINNER WILL START AT 6PM SHARP. Please bring your dish between 5:20-5:40. If you are unable to attend, but still want to contribute a dish we can set up a drop off for the night before or the morning of. Also if you aren't able to bring a dish, but still want to help, we have two clean up slots open.

Everyone attending MUST share what they're bringing on the sign up sheet. The sign up sheet with pre-approved dishes can be found here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1o2oSdUoN6tbJWMrYRxx8-ybNNPthrrezVhcIyjc1I0Y/edit?usp=sharing

NOTE: Remember to note what you are bringing on the spreadsheet or someone else may take the dish you wanted to make.

If you would like to bring a dish that is not listed please email the recipe and prep to burritoproject.la@gmail.com so we can confirm that it is an affordable and accessible vegan dish. 

Thank you for being part of our movement!

Here are links to pre-approved dishes:

ENTREES
Pozole: http://www.veganmexicanfood.com/pozole.htm
Gumbo: http://holycowvegan.net/2014/01/fat-free-vegan-gumbo.html
Thai Pizza: http://plantbasedonabudget.com/recipe/thai-pizza/

SIDES
Shepherd's Pie: http://minimalistbaker.com/1-hour-vegan-shepherds-pie/#_a5y_p=2833236
Tomato Zucchini Casserole: http://www.giverecipe.com/vegan-tomato-zucchini-casserole
Crispy Cauliflower: http://plantbasedonabudget.com/recipe/crispy-no-fuss-cauliflower/

FRUIT/VEGETABLE DISHES:
Easy Asian Quinoa Slaw: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/easy-asian-quinoa-slaw-recipe/
Rainbow Soba Noodle Salad: http://www.nomingthrulife.com/rainbow-soba-noodle-salad/
Mashed Chickpea Salad: http://www.theglowingfridge.com/mashed-chickpea-salad/

DESSERTS
Banana Bread: http://www.whereyougetyourprotein.com/vegan-banana-bread/
Strawberry Banana Oat Bars: http://www.runningwithspoons.com/2015/04/20/strawberry-banana-oat-bars/
Trail Mix Bites: http://plantbasedonabudget.com/recipe/trail-mix-bites/

NOTE: We encourage those with chocolate in their dishes to use chocolate that is fair trade. A large list of fair trade chocolate can be found here: http://www.foodispower.org/chocolate-list/